Newbie Q? Simply add a *title*

For any questions/comments/suggestions regarding using and/or contributing to ComicBookDB.com

Moderators: DarthSkeptical, Fnord Serious, Chris, spid, Skyhawke, Darth Kramer, mikebo

Alt.Ego
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:33 pm
Location: Worcester, MA

Newbie Q? Simply add a *title*

Postby Alt.Ego » Sat Aug 19, 2006 7:02 pm

I have a Marvel release of The Phantom The Ghost Who Walks - Book 3 of 3 April, 1995. There are some DC Phantoms, and earlier, but not this *title*. Where is a title added? Thanks!

User avatar
Chris
Cosmic Donor
Cosmic Donor
 
Posts: 1038
Joined: Sun Nov 13, 2005 4:48 am
Location: Toronto

Postby Chris » Sat Aug 19, 2006 8:12 pm

At the top of each page is a link that says, "Add New Content". From there you can add new titles :)

Alt.Ego
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 5:33 pm
Location: Worcester, MA

Postby Alt.Ego » Sun Aug 20, 2006 2:56 am

Yup. Got it. Any thoughts (for solo-work) of a (fill all creator fields) with 1 single creator? Example - Jessica Abel's Art Babe. She did it all, and being able to fill 1 creator into all fields with 1 selection might speed things along.

User avatar
DarthSkeptical
 
Posts: 167
Joined: Mon Nov 14, 2005 8:47 am

Postby DarthSkeptical » Thu Oct 19, 2006 9:51 am

Yes, but it would also facilitate inaccuracy. The instances of one creator being responsible for EVERYTHING on a book are very, very rare indeed. Giving the ability to populate an entire creator sheet with one name would come in handy for less <.05% of books. When you weigh that convenience against the possible damage that would be done by allowing the ability, it's probably not worth it.

However, I could see some speed advantages in abandoning the drop down nature of creator addition in favor of allowing just two blanks which operate in exactly the same way. One blank would allow the user to type in a creator's name, in exactly the same way we do now. The other would allow the user to type in the job functionality, and it would recognize the position as you started to type the word. You'd only need to type the letter "e", for instance, to enter an editor, rather than pulling something down to the word "editor".

Still it's a niggling kinda thing which might not, in the end, offer such dramatic speed increases to justify the time needed to recode things.


Return to Site Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest